Jason Aldean; Photo Courtesy of Getty Images for iHeartRadio
Jason Aldean; Photo Courtesy of Getty Images for iHeartRadio

Jason Aldean Accepts iHeartRadio Country Song Of The Year Award For “If I Didn’t Love You”: “Thank Y’all So Much”

Jason Aldean and Carrie Underwood’s “If I Didn’t Love You” was named Country Song Of The Year at the 2022 iHeartRadio Music Awards on Tuesday, March 22.

After Aldean performed a trio of hits, iHeartRadio’s reigning Best New Country Artist Lainey Wilson presented the George native with the award.

The country superstar then took to the stage to accept the trophy from Wilson and share a heartfelt speech.

“Thank you guys, a huge thanks to [Carrie Underwood] and her team at Universal,” Aldean said, thanking his collaborator, who was not present to accept the honor with him as she is currently in the midst of her Las Vegas residency.

He went on to thank his team at Broken Bow/BMG, family, friends, iHeartRadio stations as well as his four children and wife, Brittany Aldean.

“Thank you so much to my team for working this song and making it such a big song for us this year,” Aldean continued. “All the stations at iHeart that played this song, thank you guys so much. The fans, my family, my wife… Who we just celebrated our seventh anniversary yesterday, I love you baby. My kids, Keeley, Kendyl, Memphis, Navy at home, I love you guys. My producer, Michael Knox, who cut an unbelievable record on this song. Thank y’all so much and It’s been a huge year. The fans, thank you, I love you guys.”

“If I Didn’t Love You” was co-written by Aldean’s bandmates Kurt Allison and Tully Kennedy alongside John Morgan and Lydia Vaughan. It was produced by the superstar’s longtime collaborator Michael Knox.

The emotional track finds Aldean and Underwood crooning over an ex, admitting that moving on has not been easy. The track opens with Aldean’s signature vocals. Underwood joins him on the chorus as they admit to experiencing heartache following a breakup.

The multi-week chart-topper became Aldean’s 26th No.1 hit and serves as the lead single of his just-released 10th studio album, Macon, Georgia.

Hosted by LL Cool J, the 2022 iHeartRadio Music Awards also featured performances from Aldean, Jennifer Lopez, Megan Thee Stallion, John Legend, Charlie Puth, and Maneskin.

In addition to performance, the 2-hour awards show included a star-studded list of special appearances by Olivia Rodrigo, Silk Sonic, Lil Nas X, Billy Porter, The Kid LAROI, David Guetta, Avril Lavigne, Shaun White, All Time Low, Willow Smith, Robin Thicke, Nicole Scherzinger, Gina Torres, Oliver Hudson, Taylor Momsen, Lainey Wilson, Dove Cameron, Danica McKellar and more.

2022 iHeartRadio Music Awards aired on Tuesday, March 22, at 8/7c on FOX Network.

The event also streamed on iHeartMedia radio stations nationwide as well as on the iHeartRadio app.

Sharing is caring!

About Boot Kickin' Mayhem

Check Also

Chris Young, Garth Brooks; Photo by Jeff Johnson and Instagram

Chris Young Says Singing A Duet With Garth Brooks Was A “Really Special Moment” & A Career Highlight

Chris Young said singing a duet with Garth Brooks was a “really special moment” and …