Lainey Wilson “Blown Away” As She Makes CMA Awards History & Reacts To Her Six Nods: “I’m Speechless”

Lainey Wilson claimed a piece of country music history on Wednesday (Sept. 7) as she made a historic debut on the CMA Awards’ final ballot with six nominations as a first-time nominee. The fast-rising country star leads the pack of…


Andrew Wendowski


Posted on September 7, 2022

Share on:

Lainey Wilson; Photo by Andrew Wendowski

Lainey Wilson claimed a piece of country music history on Wednesday (Sept. 7) as she made a historic debut on the CMA Awards’ final ballot with six nominations as a first-time nominee.

The fast-rising country star leads the pack of nominees with nominations in the following categories: Album of the Year (Sayin’ What I’m Thinkin’), Female Vocalist of the Year, Music Video of the Year (“Never Say Never”), Musical Event of the Year (“Never Say Never”), New Artist of the Year, Song of the Year (“Things A Man Oughta Know”).

The “Watermelon Moonshine” singer is now the fourth artist in CMA Awards history to earn six nominations with their debut on the ballot. Other artists to achieve this milestone included Kacey Musgraves (2013), Brad Paisley (2000), and Glen Campbell (1968).

“This is my first time being cordially invited to the CMA Awards as a nominee and what a wonderful invitation it is,” Wilson said in a press release. “It has been such a challenging but beautiful journey up until this point and to see the Country music community and the incredible fans be so receptive to me and my music is such a blessing. I’m so grateful for this moment.”

Upon hearing the exciting news, Wilson took to social media to graciously thank the Country music community for their votes.

“6 NOMINATIONS!?!? I’m speechless,” Wilson wrote. ”While I try to find the words just know that I’m blown away and so, so honored and proud to be nominated. Thank you to the entire country music community!”

The 56th Annual CMA Awards winners will be revealed on November 9 during a three-hour ABC broadcast, which begins at 8 P.M. EST.

The news comes after the release of Wilson’s collaboration with HARDY, “Wait In The Truck,” which was an instant hit upon its debut. It also became the most-added song at country radio with 57 first-week stations when it went for adds on Monday, August 29.

Lainey Wilson Is Gearing Up To Release Her Sophomore Album, Bell Bottom Country

Wilson is also gearing up to release her highly anticipated new album, Bell Bottom Country. The 14-track project will include her latest single “Heart Like A Truck” and the just-released tune, “Watermelon Moonshine.”

YouTube video

Her sophomore album will also feature a tribute to her “Deddy” and a cover of 4 Non Blondes classic hit “What’s Up (What’s Going On).” Wilson co-wrote every song on the album except for the 4 Non Blondes cover.

“I’ve lived quite a bit of life the past few years, and I have a lot more to say,” Wilson shared of the new album. “Sure, I love a good pair of bell-bottoms, but Bell Bottom Country to me has always been about the flare and what makes someone unique — I have really embraced mine, and I hope y’all can hear that across this project.”

Bell Bottom Country is derived from the moniker folks use to describe Wilson’s unique sound, style and aesthetic — it’s Country, but with a flare. The project will allow Wilson’s authenticity to vibrantly shine through the vulnerable and empowering lyrics. The album, which will blend the elements of ‘70s Rock, Funk and Soul while remaining true to her Country roots, will also display her growth as an artist and songwriter.

Bell Bottom Country Track List

1. “Hillbilly Hippie” (Lainey Wilson, Terri Jo Box, Jeremy Bussey)
2. “Road Runner” (Lainey Wilson, Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson)
3. “Watermelon Moonshine” (Lainey Wilson, Jordan Schmidt, Josh Kear)
4. “Grease” (Lainey Wilson, Jessi Alexander, Andrew Petroff)
5. “Weak-End” (Lainey Wilson, Nicolette Hayford, Faren Rachels)
6. “Me, You, and Jesus” (Lainey Wilson, Emily Weisband, Dallas Wilson)
7. “Hold My Halo” (Lainey Wilson, Derek George, Monty Criswell, Lynn Hutton)
8. “Heart Like A Truck” (Lainey Wilson, Dallas Wilson, Trannie Anderson)
9. “Atta Girl” (Lainey Wilson, Dallas Wilson, Brett Tyler)
10. This One’s Gonna Cost Me” (Lainey Wilson, Nicolette Hayford, Faren Rachels)
11. “Those Boots (Deddy’s Song)” (Lainey Wilson, Terri Jo Box, Trent Tomlinson)
12. “Live Off” (Lainey Wilson, Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson, Adam Doleac)
13. “Wildflowers and Wild Horses” (Lainey Wilson, Trannie Anderson, Paul Sikes)
14. “What’s Up (What’s Going On)” (Linda Perry)

Additionally, Wilson will soon join the cast of Paramount’s Yellowstone for its fifth season. The Louisiana native will take on the role of Abby, a character co-creator Taylor Sheridan crafted specifically for the “Things A Man Oughta Know” singer. On the show, Wilson will perform new original music, written and recorded by the hitmaker herself.

Wilson is currently serving as direct support on Jon Pardi’s Ain’t Always The Cowboy Tour alongside Hailey Whitters and will soon hit the road to perform on select dates of Luke Combs’ Middle Of Somewhere Tour this fall.

For more information about Lainey Wilson and her upcoming tour dates, visit

Share on: