Lainey Wilson & HARDY Nab CMT Collaborative Video Of The Year For “Wait In The Truck”

Wilson and HARDY were on hand to accept the prestigious honor.


Madeleine O'Connell


Posted on April 2, 2023

Share on:

Lainey Wilson, HARDY; Photo Courtesy of Getty Images for CMT

Lainey Wilson and HARDY were crowned this year’s CMT award winners for Collaborative Video of the Year for their career-changing song, “Wait In The Truck.”

Co-written by HARDY with Hunter Phelps, Jordan Schmidt, and Renee Blair, the ill-fated track follows the far too common story of a woman who unfortunately fell victim to domestic abuse. Luckily, she finds a saving grace in a stranger, who in this case is portrayed by HARDY. 

Through the powerful music video, viewers see his character steps up to the plate and confront the man who is at fault for causing all the harm. After shooting the abuser, Wilson can finally start over with a newfound freedom, but it will take a lot more for her to unravel the tragedy of her past. 

YouTube video

During the country music award show, airing live on Sunday, April 2, the pair took to the stage to collect their award and share some words of gratitude for all the love this duet has received so far. 

HARDY was up to the mic first and after a bit of encouragement from his duet partner, he said, “This is incredible. I remember the day that Jordan Schmidt, who I wrote the song with, sent me back the demo for this song. I sat down and I was so inspired that I wrote the entire script, if you will, for the music video because of how powerful I knew the song would be.

YouTube video

“I just gotta say thank you to Lainey for working so hard and Justin Clough who directed the video, thank you so much. You’re a beast,” he continued.

Wilson added, “I just gotta say, I’m so proud to be a small part of this song. When I heard the song, I tell you, I felt like this is an opportunity for people who have been through this to feel like they’re not alone. And it’s an opportunity for the people who have been doing this to…don’t even get me started. So I just wanna say thank you so much to HARDY, I love you buddy.”

Lainey Wilson and HARDY; Photo by Rick Kern/Getty Images for CMT
Lainey Wilson and HARDY; Photo by Rick Kern/Getty Images for CMT

Following its release on Friday, August 26, “wait in the truck” instantly became a hit with fans. It also saw great success among airwaves just a few days later when it became the most-added song at country radio with 57 first-week stations. 

The now Top 10 and climbing hit was produced by Joey Moi and co-produced by HARDY, Derek Wells and Jordan Schmidt. Together, they trade off with their impressive vocals, which shine above a wistful guitar strum and gospel choir to construct he tragic narrative with a hopeful ending that unfortunately, not everyone in that scenario gets to experience. 

“I don’t know if he’s an angel / Cause angels don’t do what he did / He was hell-bent to find the man behind / All the whiskey scars I hid / I never thought my day of justice / Would come from a judge under his seat / But I knew right then I’d never get hit again when he said to me / Wait in the truck / Just wait in the truck,” they sing in the chorus. 

HARDY, Lainey Wilson "Wait In The Truck" Single Art
HARDY, Lainey Wilson “Wait In The Truck” Single Art

Co-hosted by Kane Brown and Kelsea Ballerini, the 2023 CMT Music Awards featured performances from Blake Shelton, Carly Pearce, Carrie Underwood, Cody Johnson, Jelly Roll, Keith Urban, Kelsea Ballerini, Lainey Wilson, and Tyler Hubbard. 

Additionally, the show included one-of-a-kind collaborations, including a 10th anniversary of CMT Next Women of Country celebration featuring Alanis Morissette with Lainey Wilson, Ingrid Andress, Madeline Edwards, and Morgan Wade. Gwen Stefani and Carly Pearce joined forces for a special collaboration, while Kane Brown and Katelyn Brown teamed up for the television premiere of their chart-topping duet, “Thank God.” 

The Black Crowes and Darius Rucker delivered a first-time collaboration of “She Talks To Angels,” and Wynonna Judd and Ashley McBryde will also take the stage together. 

Cody Johnson, Shania Twain, Darius Rucker, Lainey Wilson; Photo Courtesy of Getty Images for CMT
Cody Johnson, Shania Twain, Darius Rucker, Lainey Wilson; Photo Courtesy of Getty Images for CMT

The show also included a tribute to Stevie Ray Vaughan from Gary Clark, Jr. and a Lynyrd Skynyrd tribute from Billy Gibbons, Chuck Leavell, Cody Johnson, Paul Rodgers, Slash & Warren Haynes and LeAnn Rimes & Wynonna Judd as honorary “Honkettes.”

Rising stars Avery Anna, Chapel Hart, Jackson Dean, Lily Rose, Nate Smith, and Megan Moroney made their CMT Music Awards performance debut on the Ram Trucks Side Stage.  

Carly Pearce, Carrie Underwood, Charles Esten, Dixie D’Amelio, Dustin Lynch, HARDY, Ian Bohen + Jen Landon (Yellowstone), Jon Pardi, LeAnn Rimes, Madison Bailey (Outer Banks), Max Thieriot (Fire Country), Megan Thee Stallion, Noah Schnapp (Stranger Things), Parker McCollum, Peter Frampton, Shania Twain, Steve Howey (True Lies) and Travis Kelce appeared as presenters. 

The coveted awards show aired live from the Moody Center in Austin, Texas on Sunday, April 2 at 8/7c on CBS. It was also available to stream live and on-demand via Paramount+.

Share on:

Written by

More from Madeleine O'Connell

See more posts from Madeleine O'Connell