Chase Matthew Puts A Twist On Heartbreak With New Single “Come Get Your Memory,” Announces 25-Track Album

Chase Matthew’s 25-track album, Come Get Your Memory, arrives on June 9.


Melinda Lorge


Posted on April 8, 2023

Share on:

Chase Matthew; Photo by Mayoette

Chase Matthew released his brand-new single, “Come Get Your Memory.” The breakup anthem is the title track from his newly announced album of the same name. 

Written by Matthew alongside Jordan Minton and Casey Brown, “Come Get Your Memory” puts a unique twist on heartache as the Michigan native sings of trying to forget memories of an old flame that turn up whenever he reminisces of the past.

Matthew imagines a former love interest fixing her “makeup in the bathroom sink” and her dress hitting the floor. The instances find him regretful for returning to those thoughts and visuals. Looking for a solution, he begs his ex to “come get your memory” so he can permanently resolve the pain and remove the images of her that still burn in his mind. 

“Come get your memory / The one thing you left me / Guess she ain’t like you / Cause she’s still around / Mixin’ with whiskey / Now she’s livin’ rent free / Damn she’s a heartbreak / That ain’t slowin’ down / Swear I would, if I could / But I can’t just forget / ‘Cause no, she won’t let me / So girl please / Come get your memory / Come get your memory,” the 2023 Music Mayhem Artist To Watch sings while backed by an intoxicating rock beat. 

Listen To Chase Matthew’s New Song “Come Get Your Memory” Below

YouTube video

“Come Get Your Memory” Follows His Previous Release “The Way I Am”

“Come Get Your Memory” follows Matthew’s “The Way I Am” – a tune written in a similar vein as his current offering. Co-penned by Matthew alongside Hunter Phelps, Brock Berryhill, and Andy Albert, “The Way I Am” captures the vulnerability that a person experiences while dealing with a breakup.

“Breakups are never easy,” Matthew shared at the time of the track’s release. “I think we’ve all had those moments where you kind of lose yourself in a heartbreak — I know I have. When we wrote this one, we really wanted to explain that vulnerability because it’s just so relatable. ‘The Way I Am’ is one of my favorite songs I’ve released in a long time, and I’m so pumped for everyone to finally get to hear it.”

YouTube video

New 25-Track Album, Come Get Your Memory

Both tracks will appear on Matthew’s upcoming sophomore album, Come Get Your Memory – the follow-up to his full-length, independent debut release, Born For This.

Marking his debut with Warner Music Nashville, Come Get Your Memory will feature 25 tracks, including the previously released “Love You Again,” thought-provoking “Do All Dogs Go To Heaven,” and party-starting singalongs like “Where There’s Smoke” and “Outlaw Gospel.” Come Get Your Memory also includes “Downtown,” a tune that is a fan-favorite that fans have been waiting for Matthew to release.

“This is the biggest project I’ve put out so far, but my fans needed this,” Matthew says in a press release. “There’s something for everyone on this album – a few drinking songs, a handful of heartbreaks, some dancing jams, and my personal favorites: a couple that hit really close to home. When I say ‘home,’ I’m talking about the way I grew up, where I grew up, and everything it took to get me here today. I hope this album is as inspiring to you as creating it was for me… Come get your memories from this album – and maybe make some new ones along the way!”

Furthermore, the project finds Chase Matthew serving as a co-writer on 20 of the 25 tracks and even features one tune he wrote on his own. A star-studded list of songwriters, including ERNEST, HARDY, Rhett Akins, Jordan Schmidt, Hunter Phelps, and many more also had a hand in co-writing tunes on the album.

Come Get Your Memory is available now for pre-save and preorder HERE.

Chase Matthew 'Come Get Your Memory' Album Art
Chase Matthew ‘Come Get Your Memory’ Album Art

Come Get Your Memory Track List

1. Blink (Jacob Durrett, Jordan Minton, John Byron, Blake Pendergrass)
2. Come Get Your Memory (Chase Matthew, Jordan Minton, Casey Brown)
3. Do All Dogs Go To Heaven (Chase Matthew, Jacob Howard, Sean Rogers)
4. Do Me Like That (Chase Matthew, Jacob Hackworth, Daniel Hamilton, Alex Maxwell)
5. Downtown (Chase Matthew, Jamie McLaughlin, Morgan O’Connor)
6. Fall For Those I’s (Chase Matthew, Matt Stell)
7. Fine By Me (Ernest Keith Smith, Jordan Dozzi, Matt Mulhare)
8. Girl I Know (Ben Hayslip, Rhett Akins, Michael Hardy, Jordan Schmidt)
9. Good Day For A Heartbreak (Chase Matthew, Alex Palmer, Ibere Fortes, Felipe Gonzales Abad)
10. Good Time To Go (Kolby Cooper, Brent Anderson, Will Bundy, Smith Ahnquist)
11. Hey Montana (Chase Matthew, Kyle Winski)
12. Love You Again (Chase Matthew, Taylor Phillips, Casey Brown)
13. Loving You Is Like (Chase Matthew)
14. Make a Memory (Chase Matthew, Michael Rotundo, Adam Ernst, Drew Baldridge, Jody Stevens)
15. Moonlight (Chase Matthew, Brandon Manley, Austin Williams)
16. My Drinking Song (Chase Matthew, Alex Maxwell)
17. Never Change (Chase Matthew, Alex Maxwell)
18. Nothing To Do With Me (Chase Matthew, Will Pattat, Paul Garrett)
19. Outlaw Gospel (Chase Matthew, Kenton Bryant, Will Pattat)
20. Rainy Days (Chase Matthew, Jim McCormick, Nicolas Rocco Cipriana)
21. Saw Me Here (Chase Matthew, Brock Berryhill, Taylor Phillips)
22. Somebody Else’s Truck (Hunter Phelps, Ashley Gorley, Michael Hardy, Ben Johnson, Conner Smith)
23. The Way I Am (Chase Matthew, Hunter Phelps, Andy Albert, Brock Berryhill)
24. This Ain’t Working (Chase Matthew, Austin Shawn, Jacob Howard)
25. Where There’s Smoke (Chase Matthew, Rodney Clawson, Chris Tompkins, Alysa Vanderheym, Josh Miller, Jordan Reynolds)

Additionally, Chase Matthew is currently on the road as part of his headlining Love You Again Tour, which wraps on April 22 at the Dusty Armadillo in Rootstown, OH.  

Come Get Your Memory is set for release on June 9. The album is available for pre-order now. 

Chase Matthew; Photo By Andrew Wendowski
Chase Matthew; Photo By Andrew Wendowski

Chase Matthew’s Upcoming Tour Dates


8 – Knuckleheads Saloon | Kansas City, KS

16 – Country Thunder Arizona | Florence, AZ

20 – The L | Horseheads, NY

21 – Hard Times Café | Fredericksburg, VA

22 – Dusty Armadillo | Rootstown, OH


12 – Reverb – Reading, PA

18 – Intersection – Grand Rapids, MI

19 – 8 Seconds Saloon – Indianapolis, IN

Chase Matthew; Photo Courtesy of Getty Images for CMT
Chase Matthew; Photo Courtesy of Getty Images for CMT


8 – Carolina Country Music Fest – Myrtle Beach, SC

10 – Tailgate N’ Tallboys Festival – Clinton, IA

11 – CMA Fest, Riverfront Stage – Nashville, TN

16 – Tailgate N’ Tallboys Festival – Bloomington, IL

17 – Riverside Park – Logansport, IN


7 – Country Concert at Hickory Hill Lake – Fort Loramie, OH

16 – Country Thunder Saskatchewan – Craven, SK, Canada

20 – Country Thunder Wisconsin – Twin Lakes, WI

21 – Rock The South – Cullman, AL

29 – Tailgate N’ Tallboys Festival – Auburn Hills, MI


12 – Chords in the Corn – Humboldt, IA


6 – Country Thunder Bristol – Bristol, TN

22 – Country Thunder Florida – Kissimmee, FL

Share on:

Written by

More from Melinda Lorge

See more posts from Melinda Lorge