Parker McCollum Takes A Gamble On Love In New Song “Tails I Lose”

“Tails I Lose” will appear on Parker McCollum’s forthcoming new album, Never Enough.


Ally Roden


Posted on April 19, 2023

Share on:

Parker McCollum; Photo by Chris Kleinmeier

Multi-Platinum artist Parker McCollum is giving fans another look into his highly anticipated new album, Never Enough, with the release of single “Tails I Lose,” available to stream now HERE.

Penned by the MCA Nashville singer/songwriter alongside Wade Bowen, Brad Warren and Brett Warren, the track encompasses the heart of all of country’s classic hits with steel guitar and emotive lyrics, paired with the “Handle On You” singer’s signature vocal conviction.

“Nothin’s gonna change your mind/ Nothin’s gonna change my love/ Might as well toss this last dance jukebox quarter up/ I’ve done everything I can/ It don’t matter where it lands/ Ain’t a damn thing I can do/ It’s heads you win, tails I lose,” sings McCollum in the heart-wrenching lyrics.

Listen To Parker McCollum’s “Tails I Lose” Below

YouTube video

“We hadn’t heard the phrase ‘heads you win, tails I lose’ in a country song before, so we started writing that idea over a melody and dropping all kinds of imagery about breakups,” explained McCollum of the track. “When we got in the studio, Rob McNelley played that guitar sound and I was like, ‘That’s it.’ The guitar lick is so good, it sets the song up and does it justice. This song is just hardcore country. I love it and hope the fans do too.”

New Album, Never Enough

Arriving on May 12, Never Enough follows Gold Chain Cowboy, McCollum’s breakout major label debut. Previously released tracks “Handle On You,” “Stoned,” “I Ain’t Going Nowhere” and “Speed” are featured on the forthcoming project, which fans can pre-order now here.

Parker McCollum's 'Never Enough' Album Art
Parker McCollum’s ‘Never Enough’ Album Art

In addition to the release of his newest single “Tails I Lose,” McCollum also announced that he has been chosen to be a part of an elite group of stars from all genres for Spotify’s new mobile feature, Countdown Pages. This feature allows fans to pre-save, enjoy exclusive video clips and follow along with a timer count down to the album’s release.

Parker McCollum’s Never Enough Track List

1. “Hurricane” (Parker McCollum, David Lee Murphy, Jon Randall, Randy Rogers)

2. “Best I Never Had” (Parker McCollum, Will Bundy, Brett James)

3. “Things I Never Told You” (Monty Criswell, Lynn Hutton, Taylor Phillips)

4. “Burn It Down” (Parker McCollum, Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna, Liz Rose)

5. “Stoned” (Parker McCollum, Mark Holman, Brett James)

6. “Handle On You” (Parker McCollum, Monty Criswell)

7. “Lessons From An Old Man” (Parker McCollum, Lori McKenna, Lee Miller, Jon Randall, Liz Rose)

8. “Tough People Do” (Parker McCollum, Brett James, Jon Randall)

9. “Speed” (Parker McCollum, Ryan Beaver)

10. “Tails I Lose” (Parker McCollum, Wade Bowen, Brad Warren, Brett Warren)

11. “I Ain’t Going Nowhere” (Parker McCollum, Lori McKenna, Lee Miller, Jon Randall, Liz Rose)

12. “Too Tight This Time” (Parker McCollum, Brett James, Jon Randall)

13. “Don’t Blame Me” (Parker McCollum, Brett James, Jon Randall)

14. “Have Your Heart Again” (Parker McCollum, Ashley Gorley, Lee Miller)

15. “Wheel” (Parker McCollum, Jon Randall, Brad Warren, Brett Warren)

Produced by Jon Randall

To get fans excited about the upcoming album, McCollum took the stage on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon for his debut performance where he delivered a live version of “Handle On You,” a track that has taken the country radio airplay charts by storm since its release.

Watch Parker McCollum’s “Handle On You” Performance Below

YouTube video

McCollum is currently on the road where he will perform alongside some of country music’s biggest acts including Morgan Wallen for his One Night At A Time World Tour and Eric Church’s The Outsiders Revival Tour. McCollum also recently tacked on three new shows to his tour schedule, making stops in Brandon, MS on July 13, Southaven, MS on Aug. 12 and his home-state of Austin, TX on Oct. 27. He is set to wrap up this month with an epic performance at Stagecoach.

To purchase tickets and to view a full list of tour dates, go to

Share on:

Written by

More from Ally Roden

See more posts from Ally Roden