LISTEN: Ella Langley Enlists Koe Wetzel For New Song, “That’s Why We Fight”

“‘That’s Why We Fight’ is about one of those relationships where fighting is the thing that keeps you together,” Ella Langley explained of the new song.


Melinda Lorge


Posted on April 21, 2023

Share on:

Koe Wetzel, Ella Langley; Photo Provided

Country singer/songwriter Ella Langley has released a brand new collaborative single called “That’s Why We Fight.”

The rising artist teamed up with Koe Wetzel, who is featured on the track, which dropped today (Friday, April 21) via Columbia Records and Sony Music Nashville.

“That’s Why We Fight” is the first offering from Langley’s upcoming debut EP, Excuse The Mess.

The tune finds her stuck in the never-ending cycle of a toxic relationship. An enabler of the toxicity, she fuels the fire when her significant other comes home late from the bar and gets her all riled up. Although she knows the connection between the two partners is too destructive to last, she points out one thing they seem to have perfected in their relationship — fighting.

Listen To Ella Langley And Koe Wetzel’s “That’s Why We Fight” Below

YouTube video

That’s why we fight / Put lighting in the sky / Start smashing every bottle we keep bottled up inside / I take it out on you / You take it out on me too / Yeah we know some hell takes us to heaven every time / That’s why we fight / Yeah that’s why we fight,” the two artists sing together, joining vocals on the chorus. 

Wetzel shows off his talents in the second verse, sharing the male character’s side of the story. By the time it’s his turn to sing, he’s already in agreement with Langley, relaying the message that “We know we don’t work / If something don’t break / Somebody don’t slam the door / Ain’t like we ain’t tried / To kiss and apologize / No that ain’t our style / We ain’t good at playing nice anymore.” 

Ella Langley, Koe Wetzel "That's Why We Fight" Single Art
Ella Langley, Koe Wetzel “That’s Why We Fight” Single Art

The Tune Will Be On Repeat On Your Playlist

Sonically, the track includes various rock elements such as moody guitars and thrashing drums. But, it is the insane vocal chemistry between the two singers that truly makes the song worth listening to over and over again. Before dropping the track, Langley teased the release on Instagram with a video that shows her and Wetzel practicing the song acoustically.

“T-minus one day…,” a caption reads alongside the post. 

What Is The Story Behind Ella Langley And Koe Wetzel’s “That’s Why We Fight”?

In a press release, Langley shared the message behind “That’s Why We Fight.”

“‘That’s Why We Fight’ is about one of those relationships where fighting is the thing that keeps you together,” she explains. “Your significant other is your favorite person to fight with. It adds a little spice and keeps things interesting. I wouldn’t recommend a relationship like this, but we’ve all had one.”

Of her decision to include Wetzel on the track, she says, “I’ve been a fan of Koe for a long time, and it was really cool he jammed on it.”

Ella Langley Has Amasses Tens Of Millions Of Streams

“That’s Why We Fight” follows a successful track record for Langley, who recently racked up tens of millions of streams independently.

Additionally, the Alabama-born artist, who has toured with Wetzel and artists like Randy Houser, Cody Johnson, and Jamey Johnson, will take the road the summer as a supporting act on Jon Pardi’s headlining 2023 Mr. Saturday Night World Tour. The trek kicks off in Belfast on Aug. 25 and continues across the U.K. before making its way back to North America. Other opening acts for select dates of the tour, which wraps on Saturday, (Dec. 9) at the Michelob ULTRA Arena in Las Vega, NV, include Midland, Jackson Dean, Randall King, and DJ Highmax.

Excuse The Mess arrives on May 19. Fans can pre-order/pre-save the track HERE. Check out the full track listing for Excuse The Mess  below.

Ella Langley’s Excuse The Mess Track List

  1. Make Me Wanna Smoke
  2. Excuse the Mess
  3. Could’ve Been Her
  4. That’s Why We Fight (feat. Koe Wetzel)  
  5. Country Boy’s Dream Girl
  6. Hell Of A Man
  7. Where You Left It
  8. Don’t We All
Ella Langley; Photo Provided
Ella Langley; Photo Provided

Ella Langley Tour Dates 


11 – Nashville, TN – CMA Fest

16 – Santa Rose, CA – Country Summer Music Festival

22 – Mack, CO – Country Jam

29 – St. Augustine, FL – The St. Augustine Amphitheatre


20 – Cullman, AL – Rock The South


4 – Quincy, WA – Watershed Festival 2023

25 – Belfast, Northern Ireland – Ulster Hall

28 – Glasgow, UK – City Halls & Old Fruitmarket

29 – Manchester, UK – O2 Ritz Manchster

31 – Bristol, UK – O2 Academy Bristol


1 – London, UK – O2 Shepherds Bush Empire

3 – Amsterdam, Netherlands – Melkweg

4 – Hamburg, Germany – Gruenspan

6 – Oslo, Norway – Rockefeller Music Hall

7 – Stockholm, Sweden – Debaser Hornstulls Strand

28 – Knoxville, TN – Knoxville Civic Auditorium and Coliseum

29 – Pikeville, KY – Appalachian Center Arena

30 – Savannah, GA – Enmarket Arena                                  


5 – Hollywood, FL – Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino

6 – Estero, FL – Hertz Arena     

7 – Jacksonville, FL – Daily’s Place Amphitheater

19 – Brookings, CD – Swiftel Center

20 – Omaha, NE – Baxter Arena

21 – St. Louis, MO – Chaifetz Arena

26 – Eugene, OR – Matthew Knight Arena

27 – Abbotsford, BC – Abbotsford Centre

28 – Everett, WA – Angel of the Winds Arena


2 – Nampa, ID – Ford Idaho Center Arena

3 – Missoula, MT – Adams Center

4 – Billings, MT – First Interstate Arena

16 – London, ON – Budweiser Gardens

17 – Oshawa, ON – Tribute Communities Centre

18 – Hershey, PA – Giant Center

30 – Independence, MO – Cable Dahmer Arena


1 – Tulsa, OK – BOK Center

2 – Fort Worth, TX – Dickies Arena

8 – Fresno, CA – Fresno, CA

9 – Las Vegas, NV – Michelob Ultra Arena

Share on:

Written by

More from Melinda Lorge

See more posts from Melinda Lorge