Kid Rock, P!NK, Elton John & More To Appear On Dolly Parton’s Star-Studded ‘Rockstar’ Album

“I’m so excited to finally present my first Rock and Roll album Rockstar!” Dolly Parton said.


Andrew Wendowski


Posted on May 9, 2023

Share on:

Dolly Parton; Photo Provided

Dolly Parton is officially a Rockstar and is sharing all the details surrounding her first-ever rock album, Rockstar.

The country music icon, who was recently inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, just announced the track list and star-studded guests who will be joining her on the highly anticipated project.

First-Ever Rock Album, Rockstar

“I’m so excited to finally present my first Rock and Roll album Rockstar!” Parton said.

Parton continued, ”I am very honored and privileged to have worked with some of the greatest iconic singers and musicians of all time and to be able to sing all the iconic songs throughout the album was a joy beyond measure. I hope everybody enjoys the album as much as I’ve enjoyed putting it together!”

Rockstar To Feature 30 Songs

Arriving on November 17 via Butterfly Records in partnership with Big Machine Label Group, Rockstar will feature 30 tracks, including nine Dolly originals and 21 covers of some of the most iconic rock hits of all time. 

Dolly Parton 'Rockstar' Art
Dolly Parton ‘Rockstar’ Art

The project will feature collaborations with more than two dozen musical acts including Richie Sambora, Sting, Steve Perry, Ann Wilson, John Fogerty, Kid Rock, Steven Tyler, Warren Hayes, Stevie Nicks, Joan Jett & The Blackhearts, Chris Stapleton, Miley Cyrus, P!nk, Brandi Carlile, Debbie Harry, Elton John, Melissa Etheridge, Lizzo, Judas Priest’s Rob Halford, Nikki Sixx, John 5, Linda Perry, Sheryl Crow, Emmy Lou Harris, Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo, The Beatles’ Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr, Peter Frampton, Mick Fleetwood, Ronnie Van Zant, Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band.

Rockstar will be available as a four LP set, 2 CD set, digital download and on all streaming platforms. Fans can preorder and pre-save Dolly Parton’s Rockstar HERE.

Dolly Parton 'Rockstar' Art Variations
Dolly Parton ‘Rockstar’ Art Variations

“We’ve got a lot of wonderful, great celebrities — a lot of the older rock artists — in addition to all these iconic, wonderful songs,” she told Good Morning America of the project. “But I wrote the one that I’m going to debut. It’s kinda fitting to the times. It’s called ‘World on Fire.’”

Dolly Parton "World On Fire" Single Art
Dolly Parton “World On Fire” Single Art

Lead Single “World On Fire”

World On Fire” will serve as the project’s lead single and Parton will deliver the world premiere of the track during the 2023 ACM Awards.

Parton will co-host the upcoming 58th Academy of Country Music Awards alongside Garth Brooks.

“I am thrilled to return to host the ACM Awards, this time with my friend Garth,” Parton shared. “While I’ve had the pleasure of spending time with him throughout the years, I can’t believe we’ve never had the chance to work together.”

Garth Brooks, Dolly Parton; Photo Courtesy of Art Streiber
Garth Brooks, Dolly Parton; Photo Courtesy of Art Streiber

Taking place on Thursday, May 11, “Country Music’s Party of the Year” will stream live exclusively on Prime Video from Ford Center at The Star in Frisco, Texas. 

Rock & Roll Hall of Fame

Parton was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. P!nk inducted Parton and paid tribute to the international superstar with a performance alongside Brandi Carlile.

Dolly Parton joins an elite group of music icons, including Hank Williams, Johnny Cash, Chet Atkins, Bill Monroe, and Brenda Lee, to earn a spot in both the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and the Country Music Hall of Fame.

Willie Nelson will be added to this list when he is officially inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame on November 3.

Dolly Parton 'Rockstar' Album Art
Dolly Parton ‘Rockstar’ Album Art

Dolly Parton Rockstar Track List

1. Rockstar (special guest Richie Sambora)

2. World on Fire

3. Every Breath You Take (feat. Sting)

4. Open Arms (feat. Steve Perry)

5. Magic Man (feat. Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Leese)

6. Long As I Can See The Light (feat. John Fogerty)

7. Either Or (feat. Kid Rock)

8. I Want You Back (feat. Steven Tyler with special guest Warren Haynes)

9. What Has Rock And Roll Ever Done For You (feat. Stevie Nicks with special guest Waddy Wachtel)

10. Purple Rain

11. Baby, I Love Your Way (feat. Peter Frampton)

12. I Hate Myself For Loving You (feat. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)

13. Night Moves (feat. Chris Stapleton)

14. Wrecking Ball (feat. Miley Cyrus)

15. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction (feat. P!nk & Brandi Carlile)

16. Keep On Loving You (feat. Kevin Cronin)

17. Heart Of Glass (feat. Debbie Harry)

18. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me (feat. Elton John)

19. Tried To Rock And Roll Me (feat. Melissa Etheridge)

20. Stairway To Heaven (feat. Lizzo & Sasha Flute)

21. We Are The Champions

22. Bygones (feat. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5)

23. My Blue Tears (feat. Simon Le Bon)

24. What’s Up? (feat. Linda Perry)

25. You’re No Good (feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)

26. Heartbreaker (feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)

27. Bittersweet (feat. Michael McDonald)

28. I Dreamed About Elvis (feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires)

29. Let It Be (feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)

30. Free Bird (feat. Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band)

Dolly Parton 'Rockstar' Art
Dolly Parton ‘Rockstar’ Art
Share on:

Written by

More from Andrew Wendowski

See more posts from Andrew Wendowski