Gabby Barrett; Photo Courtesy of Getty Images for ACM
Gabby Barrett; Photo Courtesy of Getty Images for ACM

Gabby Barrett Wows With Impressive Cover Of Lee Ann Womack’s “I Hope You Dance” At 2022 ACM Awards

Gabby Barrett reprised a fan-favorite performance from Season 16 of American Idol during the 57th Academy Of Country Music Awards on Monday, March 7.

Live from Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas, the country superstar and Pennsylvania native took a break from her co-hosting duties to perform a cover of Lee Ann Womack’s “I Hope You Dance” during the star-studded awards show.

“Two decades ago, Lee Ann Womack won the ACM Award for Best New Female because of her performance of this song,” Barrett said. “This powerful ballad also won the ACM Award for Song Of The Year. It ranks as one of ACMs most honored recordings and is a personal favorite of mine, this is ‘I Hope You Dance.'”

Barrett put her powerhouse vocals on full display throughout her performance while donning a elegant white gown alongside her husband Cade Foehner on guitar.

The Idol alum was also nominated for Female Artist Of The Year at the coveted awards ceremony, however, Carly Pearce was crowned the winner of that category during the awards show.

The 57th Academy of Country Music Awards aired on Monday, March 7, exclusively on Prime Video at 8/7c.

Co-hosted by global icon Dolly Parton with Jimmie Allen and Gabby Barrett, the two-hour show livestreamed without commercials and featured 20+ performances from some of country music’s hottest superstars and rising newcomers.

The performance lineup included Parker McCollum and Lainey Wilson, who were crowned this year’s New Male and New Female Artist of the Year, respectively as well as Barrett, Allen, Jason Aldean, Carrie Underwood, Kane Brown, Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Walker Hayes, Maren Morris, Brothers Osborne, Thomas Rhett, Chris Stapleton, Chris Young, Lady A and Kelly Clarkson.

Gabby Barrett; Photo Courtesy of Getty Images for ACM
Gabby Barrett; Photo Courtesy of Getty Images for ACM

“The concert event of the year” also included several collaborations, including Parton featuring Kelsea Ballerini (“Big Dreams & Faded Jeans”), BRELAND featuring Thomas Rhett (“Praise The Lord”), Jordan Davis (“Buy Dirt,” feat. Luke Bryan), Brothers Osborne and Brittney Spencer (“These Boots Are Made for Walkin’”), Parmalee and Blanco Brown featuring Brooke Eden (“Just the Way”), Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde (“Never Wanted to Be That Girl”), and Chris Young featuring Mitchell Tenpenny (“At the End of a Bar”).

The 2022 ACM Awards presenters included Alan Ritchson (actor, Reacher), Derek Carr (quarterback, Las Vegas Raiders), Guy Torry (comedian, Phat Tuesdays), James Patterson (author, Run Rose Run), Jason Aldean, Kelsey Asbille (actor, Yellowstone), Luke Grimes (actor, Yellowstone), Mickey Guyton, and Tom Pelphrey (actor, Outer Range).

The ACM Awards made history as the first major awards show to livestream exclusively as it streamed live on Prime Video in the U.S., Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and the UK.

Sharing is caring!

About Boot Kickin' Mayhem

Check Also

Chris Young, Garth Brooks; Photo by Jeff Johnson and Instagram

Chris Young Says Singing A Duet With Garth Brooks Was A “Really Special Moment” & A Career Highlight

Chris Young said singing a duet with Garth Brooks was a “really special moment” and …