Dustin Lynch And Jelly Roll Cruise Back Roads And Free Their Souls In Dobie Gray-Inspired, “Chevrolet”

“Chevrolet” will appear on Dustin Lynch’s forthcoming sixth studio album, Killed The Cowboy, which arrives on September 29.


Melinda Lorge


Posted on September 16, 2023

Share on:

Dustin Lynch, Jelly Roll; Photos by Andrew Wendowski

Dustin Lynch and Jelly Roll are providing folks with the perfect song to listen to as they cruise along back roads with the windows rolled down and they’re doing that with their feel-good collaboration titled “Chevrolet,” out now.

Upon first listen, the melody of “Chevrolet” will be instantly recognizable to people as it pulls from the 1973 Dobie Gray hit “Drift Away,” later made famous by Uncle Kracker. Unlike “Drift Away,” however, “Chevrolet” incorporates acoustic instruments and plenty of twang, as the two artists highlight some of the best parts of the country lifestyle down to dirt roads and small towns to boots and Brooks & Dunn.

Reimagined “Drift Away”

Lyrically, fans will find a different theme from the “Drift Away” track that’s all about losing oneself in the sounds of rock ‘n’ roll. Instead, “Chevrolet” finds its freedom out on the open road as two people, who find a connection in one another, enjoy each other’s presence while in a flashy automobile. 

Lynch introduces the direction of the song with his distinctive vocals before BBR Music Group labelmate and fellow Tennessean Jelly Roll puts his stamp on the laid-back cut with his powerhouse vocals. 

The two artists then join forces together on the chorus, singing, “Just give me a dirt road, the windows down / Wanna get lost on the edge of town in your Chevrolet / She said, Give me a six-pack, some Brooks & Dunn / If you want a country girl, you just found one, let’s slip away / Yeah, In your Chevrolet / Let’s ride in your Chevrolet.”

Listen To Dustin Lynch And Jelly Roll’s “Chevrolet” Below

YouTube video

“Chevrolet” was written by Chase McGill, Jessi Alexander, Hunter Phelps, and Mentor Williams. In a press release, Lynch complimented the writers of the track and shared his excitement to cut it.  

He said, “There is something in the air in Nashville right now, where writers are on the same wavelength and doing cool things like interpolating classic songs into something new. When ‘Chevrolet’ came across our plate, it floored me. Everyone knows Dobie Gray’s ‘Drift Away’ – the melody of that song is timeless.”

“Having Jelly Roll on it adds an extra edge,” he added.

New Album, Killed The Cowboy

“Chevrolet” follows Lynch’s recent announcement of his upcoming highly-anticipated statement-making sixth studio album, Killed The Cowboy. The song has also dropped amid the 38-year-old multi-platinum country artist’s Top 10 and climbing single, “Stars Like Confetti.” 

Before sharing “Chevrolet,” Lynch released the title track of his forthcoming album. The song, written by Jordan Reynolds, Devin Dawson, and Anderson East, has him playing up the role of a lonesome cowboy as he considers settling down and leaving that mysterious life behind him. 

YouTube video

12 Track Project

Folks won’t have to wait much longer to get their hands on Killed The Cowboy, which includes 12 tracks. The project is due out on September 29. 

Of the project, Lynch shared in a press release: “When I’m off the road and working on my farm, I have a lot of inner dialogue. It’s a boxing match inside of me, between living in the moment and enjoying where I am, versus what’s the best version of me five, 10, or 20 years down the road. What do I want to be? What do I want life to look like? Who do I want to be around? Killed The Cowboy is that back-and-forth. It’s me asking myself, ‘Am I okay? Or am I weird for not having found my person yet? And is she even out there?’”

He continued, “My hope is that this album finds someone who needs to hear it. I want Killed The Cowboy to embrace the single people of the world and lift them up, to let them know that you don’t have to live a ‘normal’ life to still be happy in your own skin.”

Dustin Lynch 'Killed The Cowboy' Album Art
Dustin Lynch ‘Killed The Cowboy’ Album Art

Dustin Lynch’s Killed The Cowboy Track List

1. “Killed The Cowboy” (Jordan Reynolds, Devin Dawson, Anderson East)

2. “Honky Tonk Heartbreaker” (Dustin Lynch, Hunter Phelps, Zach Crowell, Ben Johnson)

3. “George Strait Jr.” (Dustin Lynch, Hunter Phelps, Jordan Reynolds, Andy Albert)

4. “Chevrolet (feat. Jelly Roll)” (Chase McGill, Jessi Alexander, Hunter Phelps, Mentor Williams)

5. “If I Stop Drinkin’” (John Morgan, Dallas Davidson, Kyle Fishman, Jordan Minton)

6. “Only Girl In This Town” (Devin Dawson, Josh Thompson, Kyle Fishman)

7. “Breakin’ Up Down” (Hunter Phelps, Zach Crowell, Blake Pendergrass, Brent Anderson)

8. “Trouble With This Truck” (Dustin Lynch, Hunter Phelps, Ashley Gorley, Zach Crowell)

9. “Blue Lights” (Jameson Rodgers, Jake Mitchell, Brent Anderson, Hunter Phelps)

10. “Lone Star” (Devin Dawson, Jordan Reynolds, Alysa Vanderheym)

11. “Listen To The Radio” (Dustin Lynch, Hunter Phelps, Randy Montana, Ben Johnson)

12. “Long Way Home” (Dustin Lynch, Kyle Fishman, Andy Albert)

Share on: