All Time Low and Blackbear; Photo Courtesy of Getty Images/iHeartRadio
All Time Low and Blackbear; Photo Courtesy of Getty Images/iHeartRadio

All Time Low & Blackbear Win Alternative Song Of The Year For “Monsters” At 2022 iHeartRadio Awards

All Time Low and Blackbear’s single “Monsters” was dubbed Alternative Song Of The Year at the 2022 iHeartRadio Music Awards on Tuesday, March 22.

The pop punk group and chart-topping rapper were on hand in Los Angeles at the Shrine Auditorium to accept the award during the coveted awards show ceremony.

Frontman Alex Gaskarth took to the microphone first to thank everyone on behalf of All Time Low.

“Thank you so, so much, wow, I had so many things prepared to say and then J. Lo performed and now it’s all gone, but no, thank you iHeart,” Gaskarth said. “Tom, Lisa, our team, our families, our friends, the fans, most importantly the fans. We’ve been a band for almost 20-years now, we started in high school, so it feels incredible to still be up here doing this and receiving this award, surrounded by so much talent in one room. Thank you, thank you, thank you.”

Blackbear then thanked his team, family, wife and their two sons.

“I just wanted to say… I have a couple thank you’s. Thank you to my brothers in Christ, All Time Low, and my amazing fans of course, I wouldn’t be anywhere without you. My fiancée’s here, Michelle, she just had a baby four days ago and she’s here. Our two son’s Midnight and Morrissey, Samantha, my manager, my brother TJ, all the stations at iHeart who made this song the longest charting song on alternative radio of all time, so thank you to the fans one more time.” 

The song, which was the longest running song on alternative radio in history, appears on All Time Low’s eighth studio album, Wake Up, Sunshine.

Hosted by LL Cool J, the 2022 iHeartRadio Music Awards also featured performances from Jennifer Lopez, Megan Thee Stallion, Jason Aldean, John Legend, Charlie Puth, and Maneskin.

In addition to performance, the 2-hour awards show included a star-studded list of special appearances by Olivia Rodrigo, Silk Sonic, Lil Nas X, Billy Porter, The Kid LAROI, David Guetta, Avril Lavigne, Shaun White, All Time Low, Willow Smith, Robin Thicke, Nicole Scherzinger, Gina Torres, Oliver Hudson, Taylor Momsen, Lainey Wilson, Dove Cameron, Danica McKellar and more.

2022 iHeartRadio Music Awards aired on Tuesday, March 22, at 8/7c on FOX Network.

The event also streamed on iHeartMedia radio stations nationwide as well as on the iHeartRadio app.

Sharing is caring!

About Music Mayhem

Check Also

Aerosmith; Photo: Zack Whitford/Aerosmith

BREAKING: Aerosmith Suddenly Cancel Las Vegas Concert As Steven Tyler Falls Ill

Aerosmith were forced to cancel their Deuces Are Wild Las Vegas residency concert at Dolby …