Toby Keith; Photo by Richard McLaren
Toby Keith; Photo by Richard McLaren

4 Fun Facts About Toby Keith’s Upcoming Album, ‘Peso In My Pocket’

Toby Keith is gearing up to release his new album, Peso In My Pocket, later this year mid-October. 

Co-produced by Kenny Greenberg and Keith, Peso In My Pocket features 10-songs, 4 of which are penned solely by Keith. The project includes a tribute to the late John Prine, where Keith shared his rendition of the Prine-John Mellencamp co-write “Take A Look At My Heart.” 

Also deserving of credit for the collection is Mexico, where Keith has a house he stayed at for the first several months of the crisis. “It was like being on the moon,” he says. “A lot of my friends down there were afraid they wouldn’t be let back in the U.S., so they all went home. I wasn’t on the road and nobody could go anywhere, so I thought, ‘You’ve written a long list of songs by yourself, dumbass. Get up and get busy!’ I went through the ideas I keep on my phone and thought, ‘Shit, I need to write these.'”
Not only did he come to the table with more than a few songwriting pesos in his pocket, he added outside contributors to the mix. Notable songwriting credits include The Warren Brothers, Ryan Hurd, Maren Morris, Jesse Jo Dillon, Brett Tyler, and Sammy Hagar. Keb Mo joined Keith in the studio on a cover of his “Old Me Better,” as did well-known Oklahoma artist Mike Hosty, whose “Oklahoma Breakdown” kicks off the album.

Peso In My Pocket arrives on October 15, 2021. The album is available for preorder now HERE.

See the album’s full track list below.

1. Oklahoma Breakdown (Michael Hosty)
2. Peso In My Pocket (Toby Keith)
3. Old School (Ryan Hurd, Maren Morris, Brett Tyler)
4. Old Me Better (Kevin R. Moore, John Lewis Parker)
5. Days I Shoulda Died (Brad Warren, Brett Warren, Jessie Jo Dillon)
6. Growing Up Is A Bitch (Toby Keith, Sammy Hagar)
7. She’s Drinkin’ Again (Toby Keith)
8. Thunderbird (Toby Keith)
9. Take A Look At My Heart (John Mellencamp, John Prine)
10. Happy Birthday America (Toby Keith)

We compiled a list of 4 fun-facts you need to know about the forthcoming new album below.

Toby Keith 'Peso In My Pocket'

To Pay Tribute To Late Country Icon John Prine

The project includes a tribute song to the late John Prine. Keith takes on the Prine/John Mellencamp co-penned track, “Take A Look At My Heart,” a track that appears on Prine’s tenth studio album, The Missing Years (1991), and originally features superstar Bruce Springsteen.

Maren Morris & Ryan Hurd Wrote One Of The Songs

One of the already released tracks, “Old School,” was co-written by Maren Morris, Ryan Hurd and Brett Tyler. The song earned Keith his highest charting debut of his career on the Billboard Country Airplay chart. 

“When I first heard the demo, it reminded me of Steve Miller,” Keith recalled of the track. “But it had a little bit of a rap to it – not unlike the can of worms I opened years ago with ‘I Wanna Talk About Me.’ Then it’s got the coolest melodic waterfall and I was like, ‘Yeah, I gotta cut this.’”

4 Tracks Are Self-Penned

“Happy Birthday America,” “She’s Drinkin’ Again,” “Thunderbird” and the title track “Peso In My Pocket” were self-penned by Keith.

First New Album In Six Years

Peso In My Pocket marks Keith’s first new album since the release of 2015’s 35 MPH Town

Sharing is caring!

About Andrew Wendowski

Check Also

Reba McEntire, Melissa Peterman; Photo Courtesy of 'The Hammer'/Lifetime

Reba McEntire Reunites With Melissa Peterman & Sings Duet Of The Judds’ “Girls Night Out” On ‘The Hammer’

Reba McEntire’s newest film, Reba McEntire’s The Hammer is out now! The movie, based on …