Lainey Wilson; Photo Courtesy of Getty Images for ACM
Lainey Wilson; Photo Courtesy of Getty Images for ACM

WATCH: Lainey Wilson Leads 2022 ACM Awards With Three Wins & Performs “Things A Man Oughta Know”

The votes have been tallied and the ACM Song of the Year is Lainey Wilson’s “Things A Man Oughta Know.”

Wilson accepted the honor during the 57th Academy of Country Music Awards at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas on Monday, March 7.

“Holy moly. Y’all. Country music is my life and has been my life as long as I can remember,” Wilson said. “I’m from a town of 264 in Northeast Louisiana, where country music is life. Oh my gosh, I have so many people to thank, let me pull out my scroll.”

The chart-topping artist went on to thank God, her family and others who have supported her along the way.

“First of all, I don’t need a note for this but I want to thank the Lord and Savior for putting this dream on my heart. I want to thank my family, who have just been so supportive of me from the beginning, who helped me buy my camper trailer and move it to Nashville,” she shared. “I want to thank my songwriters and my co-writers, Jason Nix and Jonathan Singleton, my producer Jay Joyce, my label BMG/Broken Bow, Sony Music Publishing, Red Light Management, WME, country radio that have supported me so, so much.”

The Louisiana native closed her speech by thanking the country music community and fans for welcoming her with open arms. “And I’ll tell you what, the country music fans have wrapped their loving arms around [me], which is a prayer answered I just appreciate y’all so much.”

Wilson performed “Things A Man Oughta Know” later in the broadcast.

“This song is about treating people right and It’s not just something that a man oughta know, it’s something we all need to know, it’s about the golden rule,” she declared.

The ACM Song of the Year trophy is awarded to the songwriter(s), publisher(s), and artist(s).
Wilson is now a three-time ACM Award winner as she received two trophies for her Song of the Year win (as the artist and songwriter) as well as the ACM New Female Artist of the Year trophy, which was announced late last week.

Other songs nominated in the ACM Song of the Year category included “7 Summers” by Morgan Wallen written by Wallen, Josh Osborne, and Shane McAnally, “Buy Dirt” by Jordan Davis featuring Luke Bryan written by Davis, Jacob Davis, Josh Jenkins and Matt Jenkins, “Fancy Like” by Walker Hayes written by Hayes, Cameron Bartolini, Josh Jenkins and Shane Stevens, and “Knowing You” by Kenny Chesney written by Adam James, Brett James, and Kat Higgins.

Lainey Wilson; Photo Courtesy of Getty Images for ACM
Lainey Wilson; Photo Courtesy of Getty Images for ACM

The 57th Academy of Country Music Awards aired on Monday, March 7, exclusively on Prime Video at 8/7c.

Co-hosted by global icon Dolly Parton with Jimmie Allen and Gabby Barrett, the two-hour show livestreamed without commercials and featured 20+ performances from some of country music’s hottest superstars and rising newcomers.

The performance lineup included Parker McCollum and Lainey Wilson, who were crowned this year’s New Male and New Female Artist of the Year, respectively as well as Barrett, Allen, Jason Aldean, Carrie Underwood, Kane Brown, Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Walker Hayes, Maren Morris, Brothers Osborne, Thomas Rhett, Chris Stapleton, Chris Young, Lady A and Kelly Clarkson.

“The concert event of the year” also included several collaborations, including Parton featuring Kelsea Ballerini (“Big Dreams & Faded Jeans”), BRELAND featuring Thomas Rhett (“Praise The Lord”), Jordan Davis (“Buy Dirt,” feat. Luke Bryan), Brothers Osborne and Brittney Spencer (“These Boots Are Made for Walkin’”), Parmalee and Blanco Brown featuring Brooke Eden (“Just the Way”), Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde (“Never Wanted to Be That Girl”), and Chris Young featuring Mitchell Tenpenny (“At the End of a Bar”).

The 2022 ACM Awards presenters included Alan Ritchson (actor, Reacher), Derek Carr (quarterback, Las Vegas Raiders), Guy Torry (comedian, Phat Tuesdays), James Patterson (author, Run Rose Run), Jason Aldean, Kelsey Asbille (actor, Yellowstone), Luke Grimes (actor, Yellowstone), Mickey Guyton, and Tom Pelphrey (actor, Outer Range).

The ACM Awards made history as the first major awards show to livestream exclusively as it streamed live on Prime Video in the U.S., Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and the UK.

Sharing is caring!

About Boot Kickin' Mayhem

Check Also

Keith Urban Honoring The Late Christine McVie; Photo Courtesy of Instagram

Keith Urban Honors The Late Christine McVie With Heartfelt Tribute Performance In Australia [WATCH]

Keith Urban honored the late Christine McVie during his headlining performance on Wednesday, November 30, at Gold …