The Prince Estate in Partnership with Legacy Recordings Announce Next Wave of Physical Titles (CD/DVD/Vinyl) in Definitive Catalog Rerelease Project with Prince’s Ultimate Rave on Friday, April 26, 2019

The Prince Estate and Legacy Recordings, a division of Sony Music Entertainment, are pleased to announce the next round of physical titles set for release as part of the ongoing and definitive Prince catalog project. Next up will be Prince’s Ultimate Rave on Friday, April…


Music Mayhem


Posted on February 22, 2019

Share on:

The Prince Estate and Legacy Recordings, a division of Sony Music Entertainment, are pleased to announce the next round of physical titles set for release as part of the ongoing and definitive Prince catalog project. Next up will be Prince’s Ultimate Rave on Friday, April 26.

A 3-disc bundle of the artist’s pivotal new millennium pop party dance music, Ultimate Rave brings together CDs of 1999’s Rave Un2 the Joy Fantastic and its 2001 remix Rave In2 the Joy Fantastic alongside a DVD containing the full-length performance version of Prince In Concert: Rave Un2 the Year 2000, Prince’s epic 1999 New Year’s Eve party, originally captured for on-demand pay-per-view airing during the dawning of Y2K.

Also available on April 26, both Rave Un2 the Joy Fantastic and Rave In2 the Joy Fantastic on vinyl, marking the first ever vinyl release for Rave In2 the Joy Fantastic. Each of the vinyl titles will be pressed on highly collectible, limited edition purple vinyl. In addition, the albums will be available in both CD/LP form alongside new exclusive merchandise corresponding to the Rave era via the Official Prince Store.

The Rave titles are available now for pre-order:

First came Rave Un2 the Joy Fantastic, his only album for NPG/Arista (and last released under the unpronounceable “Love Symbol” moniker), a record showcasing Prince’s mastery of pop and R&B through a variety of tracks and a surprising range of guest artists including Chuck D, Eve, Gwen Stefani, Ani DiFranco, and Sheryl Crow (Prince even covers Crow’s smash hit “Every Day is a Winding Road” on the album).

By 2001, Prince had established a groundbreaking internet presence through his NPG Music Club, an online destination site where fans could access new music alongside tracks from the fabled Prince Vault and other rarities. One of the first full-length releases from NPG Music Club was Prince’s Rave In2 the Joy Fantastic, a remix and reimagining of his ongoing “Rave” project.

In 1999, Prince promoted the release of Rave Un2 the Joy Fantastic with his iconic pay-per-view special, Prince In Concert: Rave Un2 the Year 2000. Broadcast on New Year’s Eve 1999, the special featured guest artists including Morris Day & the Time, Maceo Parker, Larry Graham, George Clinton, and Lenny Kravitz. The DVD of this concert features 23 tracks plus 4 “bonus groovez.” Tracks from across Prince’s career are featured including hits like “Let’s Go Crazy,” “Purple Rain,” “U Got The Look,” “Raspberry Beret,” “Gett Off,” and “Kiss” and deeper cuts like “She’s Always In My Hair,” “The Christ,” (originally “The Cross” from Sign O’ The Times) and “Nothing Compares 2 U” plus songs from Rave Un2 the Joy Fantastic like “Baby Knows” and “The Greatest Romance Ever Sold.” Besides this physical re-issue, a broadcast edit of Prince In Concert: Rave Un2 The Year 2000 is slated to air on PBS stations in June.

Prince’s Ultimate Rave arrives during CELEBRATION 2019, the ultimate four-day Prince event to be held April 25-28 at Paisley Park, Prince’s historic home and recording sanctuary outside Minneapolis. The annual event welcomes Prince fans from around the world into an inspired environment of live music, concert screenings, panel discussions and special presentations highlighting Prince’s tremendous talent and cultural impact. Performing artists this year include internationally acclaimed musician, guitarist and original member of The Time, Jesse Johnson; Prince’s iconic group The Revolution, featuring Bobby Z, BrownMark, Lisa Coleman, Wendy Melvoin and Matt Fink; and Funk Soldiers, a fifteen-piece supergroup of New Power Generation and Paisley Park musical alumni. To learn more and purchase tickets, please visit this link.

The Minnesota Timberwolves will distribute an exclusive Minneapolis-themed 7″ purple vinyl single to all attendees of the Timberwolves vs Miami Heat game on April 5 at Target Center in Minneapolis, MN.

The exclusive 7” release is an extension of the broader collaboration between The Prince Estate and the Timberwolves rooted in theTimberwolves Nike City Edition uniforms. A Minneapolis native and avid basketball fan, Prince would often be seen sitting courtside at Target Center.

As a way to celebrate the city of Minneapolis, music, basketball and pop culture, the Timberwolves City Edition Prince nights have featured musical tributes from Morris Day, Sounds of Blackness, Liv Warfield, Sheila E and two more acts yet to be announced for upcoming Prince nights on March 19 vs. the Golden State Warriors and the final Prince night game on April 5. To honor the occasion, the Prince Estate and Sony/Legacy will also make the soon-to-be-announced track available on digital services for the first time in March along with custom Prince x Timberwolves playlists. Follow @timberwolves for future details. For tickets to the April 5 game, and to secure the exclusive 7” purple vinyl, visit

Prince – Ultimate Rave

Rave Un2 the Joy Fantastic (1999)

  1. Rave Un2 The Joy Fantastic
  2. Undisputed (featuring Chuck D)
  3. The Greatest Romance Ever Sold
  4. Segue
  5. Hot Wit U (featuring Eve)
  6. Tangerine
  7. So Far, So Pleased (featuring Gwen Stefani)
  8. The Sun, The Moon and Stars
  9. Every Day Is A Winding Road
  10. Segue
  11. Man ‘O’ War
  12. Baby Knows (featuring Sheryl Crow)
  13. Eye Love U, But Eye Don’t Trust U Anymore (featuring Ani DiFranco)
  14. Silly Game
  15. Strange But True
  16. Wherever U Go, Whatever U Do
  17. Segue
  18. Prettyman

Rave In2 the Joy Fantastic (2001)

  1. Rave In2 The Joy Fantastic
  2. Undisputed (featuring Chuck D) (The Moneyapolis Mix)
  3. The Greatest Romance Ever Sold
  4. Hot Wit U (featuring Eve) (Nasty Girl Remix)
  5. Tangerine
  6. So Far, So Pleased (featuring Gwen Stefani)
  7. The Sun, The Moon and Stars
  8. Man ‘O’ War (Remix)
  9. Baby Know (featuring Sheryl Crow)
  10. Eye Love U, But Eye Don’t Trust U Anymore (featuring Ani DiFranco)
  11. Beautiful Strange
  12. Silly Game
  13. Where U Go, Whatever U Do
  14. Prettyman

Prince In Concert: Rave Un2 the Year 2000 (2000)

  1. Let’s Go Crazy
  2. She’s Always In My Hair
  3. U Got The Look
  4. Kiss
  5. Jungle Love(Morris Day & the Time)
  6. The Bird (Morris Day & the Time)
  7. American Woman (Lenny Kravitz)
  8. Fly Away (Lenny Kravitz)
  9. Gett Off
  10. Medley (Rosie Gaines, Mike Scott, Maceo Parker)
  11. It’s Alright
  12. Everyday People (Cynthia Robinson & Gerry Martini)
  13. Higher (Larry Graham)
  14. Purple Rain
  15. The Christ
  16. Blues Medley (Maceo Parker, Johnny Blackshire)
  17. Nothing Compares 2 U
  18. Take Me With U / Raspberry Beret
  19. The Greatest Romance Ever Sold
  20. Baby Knows
  21. 1999 Intro
  22. Baby I’m A Star
  23. 1999

“Bonus Groovez”

1.Flashlight – George Clinton

2.The Undertaker (Sax Solo) – Kathy Jensen

3.The Undertaker (Harmonica Solo) – Jimmy Russell

  1. Release Yourself – Larry Graham, Prince and NPG


Interviews w/ George Clinton, Lenny Kravitz, Morris Day and Prince

Share on:

Written by

More from Music Mayhem

See more posts from Music Mayhem

You may also like