Smith & Myers; Photo by Paris Visone
Smith & Myers; Photo by Paris Visone

Smith & Myers Addresses Racial Injustices In New Single “Not Mad Enough,” Releases New Album Details

Smith & Myers, the duo comprised of multi-platinum artists Brent Smith and Zach Myers, detailed their new album as well as releasing dual singles on Friday (Aug. 21).

The duo released their new single “Not Mad Enough,” which addressed racial injustices in the world accompanied by a music video filmed by Paris Visone. They also released a reimagined version of Neil Young’s timeless track, “Rockin’ In The Free World.”

“Not Mad Enough” was written in the immediate aftermath of George Floyd’s death, expressing the intense emotions that followed and laying bare a plea for racial justice through direct and urgent lyrics over acoustic guitar. The song is paired with the release of a poignant version of “Rockin’ In The Free World,” highlighting Neil Young’s timeless lyrics that are just as relevant today over lone piano.

“We’ve spent a great deal of time and energy making sure this project is completely authentic,” explained Brent Smith. “The main reason Smith & Myers exists has to do with the fans. A project that was born from multiple requests over the years has now evolved into its true identity. Make no mistake – it’s about the songs, it’s about the story, and above all it’s about the message.”

“It was an odd time to make a record at the beginning of a global pandemic, but the state of the world is reflected in the art we made on this album,” says Zach Myers. “It was some of the most creative times I’ve ever had as a musician or a songwriter. For the covers, we felt that we should approach them as a duo as if we had written the song modern day. With the originals, Brent and I had never discussed some of this subject matter before and we dug so deep while also touching on a world that’s rapidly changing around us the last eight months. We felt it would be disingenuous not to touch on social issues we ALL face as humans. We put a lot into this album and we truly hope you enjoy listening to it.”

Their new album, Smith & Myers Volume 1, will be out on October 9 via Atlantic Records. It will features five original tunes and five re-imaginings of fan-submitted songs including Post Malone’s “Better Now,” INXS’ “Never Tear Us Apart,” Mark Ronson and Amy Winehouse’s “Valerie,” and The Righteous Brothers’ “Unchained Melody” You can see the full track list below.

Smith & Myers Volume 1 is the first original music since releasing a pair of acoustic cover EPs, Acoustic Sessions, Part 1 and Acoustic Sessions, Part 2, in 2014.

Smith & Myers will bring their powerful live duo show to a string of drive-in locations around Pennsylvania including Philadelphia’s Citizens Bank Park Parking Lot on September 3rd, Scranton’s Circle Drive-In on September 18th, and Butler’s Starlight Drive-In on September 19th. For tickets and more information, click HERE.

Smith & Myers Track Listing:
1. Not Mad Enough
2. Rockin’ In The Free World
3. The Weight of It All
4. Better Now
5. Panic
6. Never Tear Us Apart
7. Coast To Coast
8. Valerie
9. Since You Were Mine
10. Unchained Melody

September 3 – Philadelphia, PA @ Citizens Bank Park Parking Lot
September 18 – Scranton, PA @ Circle Drive-In
September 19 – Butler, PA @ Starlight Drive-In

Sharing is caring!

About Music Mayhem

Check Also

Carson Daly, Camila Cabello, John Legend, Gwen Stefani, Blake Shelton; Photo Courtesy of The Voice/NBC

BREAKING: ‘The Voice’ Reveals Season 22 Battle Round Advisors & New Knockout Round Twist

Jimmie Allen, Sean Paul, Charlie Puth and Jazmine Sullivan will serve as Battle Advisors for …