Credited as the breakout rock band of 2017, today Greta Van Fleet – Josh Kiszka/ vocals, Jake Kiszka/guitars, Sam Kiszka/bass & keys, Danny Wagner/drums – celebrates the release of its double EP From The Fires  (Lava/ Republic Records), available digitally and as a physical disc.  For a taste, check out the brand new “A Change Is Gonna Come” here.  Use this link to access the entire release via outlets like iTunes, Spotify, Google Play, more.

The eight-track From The Fires combines four new tracks recorded in September at Rust Belt Studios in Detroit – two GVF original songs, “Talk on the Street” and “Edge of Darkness,” and two covers, Sam Cooke’s emotional “A Change Is Gonna Come” and “Meet On The Ledge” by the late 60’s folk rock band Fairport Convention – with the four songs from the band’s debut EP, Black Smoke Rising, released earlier this year.  From The Fires was produced by the same duo that helmed Black Smoke Rising, Al Sutton and Marlon Young.   As Greta Van Fleet vocalist Josh Kiszka said, “These eight songs belong together as they share a theme of basic humanity.”
‘From The Fires‘ track listing is as follows:
1.  Safari Song
2.  Edge of Darkness
3.  Flower Power
4.  A Change Is Gonna Come
5.  Highway Tune
6.  Meet On The Ledge
7.  Talk On the Street
8.  Black Smoke Rising

The four new recordings shine a light on some of the band members’ earliest musical influences, the blues, soul and funk of artists like Muddy Waters, Joe Cocker, Sam & Dave, Howlin’ Wolf and Wilson Pickett.  As Screamer magazine said in its From The Fires review, “These new tunes show how much Greta Van Fleet is really capable of and how deep the talent runs.

According to Josh, “Edge of Darkness” is about “the bravery behind the compassion that we feel for each other.  One of the lyrics is ‘I’ve got love in my heart,’ and I think, as a global community, it’s a spiritual thing to share all that we have together.  Giving love is giving power.
Sam Cooke’s “A Change Is Gonna Come” is one that has special meaning for the band.  When Josh and twin brother/guitarist Jake first heard it, they thought it was a song they’d like to cover, but never did.  Fast forward a few years and ironically, co-producer Marlon Young suggested they cover it for this release.  “All of us are very affected by oppression of any type,” said Josh, “cultural, racial, sexual.  I’ve never experienced what Sam Cooke did so I have to admit, it was a little difficult for me, getting behind the mic, but I did it because singing this song meant a lot to me.”  As Icon vs Icon wrote about this track, “This is where the group truly shows they are like no other.  This isn’t simply a rock song, or even blues, it’s a gospel ballad that will move even the toughest soul.
Josh has always connected with folk songs, with their beautiful melodies and harmonies and is a big fan of late ’60s folk-rock groups like Spyro Gyra, Pentangle and Fairport Convention.  “Meet On The Ledge was composed by Fairport Convention’s Richard Thompson.  “I was on a train going to New York,” he recalls, “and on the way, I listened to an entire decade of Fairport Convention’s music.  ‘Meet On The Ledge’ was the fourth or fifth track I heard and it caught me by surprise.  I was absolutely entranced, the verse and chorus blew my mind.
About “Talk On The Street,” Josh describes it as “a fun song, full of catchy riffs and dynamic drums, kind of an ambiguous wild ride, a real rock’n’roll song.
Greta Van Fleet will do some writing and recording this month, take some well-deserved time off for Thanksgiving, and then hit the last weeks of its first-ever U.S. tour – with all headline dates sold out in advance – on November 30 at Lincoln Hall in Chicago.  Dates are below.
30  Lincoln Hall, Chicago, IL  SOLD OUT
 1   Limelight Eventplex, Peoria, IL  (GVF co-headline)  SOLD OUT
 2   Sokol Auditorium, Omaha, NE  SOLD OUT
   Bowery Ballroom, New York, NY  SOLD OUT
 6   Bowery Ballroom, New York, NY  SOLD OUTT
12  Capone’s, Johnson City, TN  SOLD OUT
14  Delmar Hall, St. Louis, MO  SOLD OUT
15  Granada Theatre, Lawrence, KS  SOLD OUT
16  Wooly’s, Des Moines, IA  SOLD OUT
18  Mercy Lounge, Nashville, TN  SOLD OUT
19  Mercy Lounge, Nashville, TN  SOLD OUT
28  St. Andrews Hall, Detroit, MI   SOLD OUT
29  St. Andrews Hall, Detroit, MI   SOLD OUT
30  Intersection, Grand Rapids, MI   SOLD OUT
Share on:

Written by

Andrew Wendowski is the Founder and CEO of Music Mayhem. As a 29-year-old entrepreneur, he oversees content as the Editor-In-Chief for the independent brand. Wendowski, who splits time between Philadelphia, Penn., and Nashville, Tenn., has an extensive background in multimedia. Before launching Music Mayhem in 2014, he worked as a highly sought-after photojournalist and tour photographer, collaborating with such labels as Interscope Records and Republic Records. He has captured photos of some of the biggest names, including Taylor Swift, Metallica, Harry Styles, P!NK, Morgan Wallen, Carrie Underwood, The Rolling Stones, Madonna, Shania Twain, and hundreds more. Wendowski’s photos and freelance work have appeared nationwide and can be seen everywhere from ad campaigns to various publications, including Billboard and Rolling Stone. When Wendowski isn’t running Music Mayhem, he enjoys spending time at concerts, traveling, and capturing photos.

See more posts from Andrew Wendowski

You may also like