Cody Johnson; Photo Courtesy of CMA/ABC
Cody Johnson; Photo Courtesy of CMA/ABC

Cody Johnson’s “‘Til You Can’t” Named CMA Single of the Year: “I’m So Grateful To Be Here… God Bless Country Music”

Cody Johnson secured his first CMA Single Of The Year win for his hit track “‘Til You Can’t” at the 56th Annual CMA Awards. The moment was made even sweeter as the singer had the chance to perform the song at the awards show prior to the announcement of his achievement.

“Ben Stennis and Matt Rodgers wrote, in my opinion, one of the greatest country music songs of all time and I’m just so blessed to have it in my hands,” said Johnson as he accepted the award. “Trent Willmon and Jack Clarke — these men that are standing behind me — they might be the greatest producer and the greatest engineer in the business, I’m so grateful to be here, God bless country music. Thank you so much.”

Buy Dirt” by Jordan Davis and featuring Luke Bryan, “half of my hometown” by Kelsea Ballerini featuring Kenny Chesney, “Never Wanted To Be That Girl” by Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde and Chris Stapleton’s “You Should Probably Leave” were also nominated in the same category.

Produced by Trent Willmon and co-written by Ben Stennis and Matthew J. Rogers, “‘Til You Can’t” was the lead single on Johnson’s latest project, Human: The Double Album. The song became Johnson’s first No.1 and first multi-week No.1 when it reached the top of the charts earlier this year.

“I chose to record ‘Til You Can’t’ first because of the positivity in the message of the song. In our world today, we could use more positivity,” Johnson previously shared. “Secondly, because of how dynamic the melody was; I took it and ran with it.”

The “Me and My Kind” singer was awarded his first-ever CMA Awards the morning of Wednesday (Nov. 9) for the “‘Til You Can’t,” music video. The Music Video of the Year trophy is awarded to the artist, Johnson, as well as director, Dustin Haney.

Johnson was also nominated for Male Vocalist of the Year and New Artist of the Year.

The 56th Annual CMA Awards featured performances from Luke Combs, Morgan Wallen, Miranda Lambert, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Cole Swindell, Cody Johnson, and Carly Pearce.

The show opened with an all-star tribute to the late Loretta Lynn from Underwood, Reba McEntire and Lambert.

Underwood, Dierks Bentley, Jon Pardi, and Lainey Wilson joined together to honor the 2022 CMA Willie Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, Alan Jackson.

Additionally, the show included star-studded collaborations from Kelsea Ballerini, Kelly Clarkson and Carly Pearce, HARDY and Lainey Wilson, Elle King with The Black Keys, Brothers featuring The War and Treaty, Thomas Rhett and Katy Perry, Chris Stapleton with Patty Loveless, Zac Brown Band, Jimmie Allen and Marcus King as well as Ashley McBryde with Pillbox Patti, Brandy Clark, Caylee Hammack and John Osborne.

Mookie Betts, BRELAND, Jessica Chastain, Jordan Davis, Sarah Drew, Cole Hauser, Tyler Hubbard, Wynonna Judd, Lady A, Rex Linn, Little Big Town, Parker McCollum, Reba McEntire, Ben and Erin Napier, Jeannie Seely, Michael Shannon, and Lainey Wilson were on hand to present during the ceremony.

Co-hosted by Luke Bryan and Peyton Manning, the 2022 CMA Awards broadcasted live from Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena and aired on ABC (8:00-11:00 PM/ET).

The CMA Awards will also be available for viewing on Hulu beginning Thursday, Nov. 10.

The 56th Annual CMA Awards was a production of the Country Music Association. Robert Deaton served as the Executive Producer, Alan Carter as the Director, and Jon Macks as the Head Writer.

Sharing is caring!

About Ally Roden

Check Also

Morgan Wallen; Photo Courtesy of Drury Outdoors/YouTube

WATCH: Morgan Wallen Recalls His Journey On ‘The Voice’ & How He Got His Start In Country Music

Morgan Wallen recently reflected on his country music career, including his journey on the NBC …