Carrie Underwood; Photo by Jeremy Cowart
Carrie Underwood; Photo by Jeremy Cowart

Carrie Underwood Says The Songs On ‘My Savior’ Shaped Who She Is As A Person And Artist

Carrie Underwood just released her first-ever gospel album, My Savior, and admits that this is an album she always wanted to record as the songs on the record truly shaped her as a person and are the foundation to her career as a recording artist.

“This is an album I have always wanted to record.  When I set out to choose these songs, I wanted to include the beautiful, familiar hymns I grew up singing in church,” Underwood revealed. “There are several songs I have performed in the past, like ‘Softly And Tenderly,’ ‘How Great Thou Art’ and ‘Amazing Grace’ that mean so much to me and I knew immediately we needed to record for the album.  This music shaped who I am as a person and is the foundation of my career as a recording artist. I feel so blessed to get to share these songs with generations of people who love them as I do, as well as others who might be experiencing them for the first time.”

My Savior consists of covers of traditional gospel hymns Underwood grew up singing.  Highlights of the album include a duet with CeCe Winans, the best-selling and most-awarded female gospel artist of all time, on the classic hymn, “Great Is Thy Faithfulness.”  Singer/songwriter Bear Rinehart, frontman of the rock band, NEEDTOBREATHE, also makes a special appearance, joining Underwood to sing harmony on another traditional hymn, “Nothing But The Blood Of Jesus.”

Additionally, the superstar will host a global livestream concert on Easter Sunday, where she will perform her new album tracks live from The Ryman in Nashville.

My Savior Track List:

  1. Jesus Loves Me (instrumental)
  2. Nothing But The Blood Of Jesus (with Bear Rinehart of NEEDTOBREATHE)
  3. Blessed Assurance
  4. Just As I Am
  5. Victory In Jesus
  6. Great Is Thy Faithfulness (featuring CeCe Winans)
  7. O How I Love Jesus
  8. How Great Thou Art
  9. Because He Lives
  10. The Old Rugged Cross
  11. I Surrender All
  12. Softly And Tenderly
  13. Amazing Grace

Sharing is caring!

About Boot Kickin' Mayhem

Check Also

Brittany Aldean, Jason Aldean; Photo Courtesy of TikTok

Jason Aldean & Wife Brittany Aldean Prank Call Luke Bryan In Hilarious New Video: “What The Hell Are You Calling For?”

Jason Aldean and his wife Brittany Aldean dialed up Luke Bryan, but there was a …