Billy Ray Cyrus Portrays ‘Surreal’ Weed Nugget in “Angel In My Pocket” Animation Music Video

Always a visionary for his craft, Billy Ray Cyrus recruits Potsy Ponciroli of Hideout Pictures and Mikey Peterson of Nug Nation for a stop-motion animated video for “Angel in my Pocket,” included on Cyrus’ new studio album, The SnakeDoctor Circus, available May 24 from BMG.

WATCH “Angel in my Pocket” below:

Cyrus co-wrote the droning, blues-based” (Rolling Stone Country) and country rock” (Billboard) track with Don Von Tress, who also penned Cyrus’ smash “Achy Breaky Heart.”

In the animation, Cyrus portrays a sleepy-eyed mini-mart worker who is always under fire from his not-cool boss…it’s a surreal video, with Doobie Ray Cyrus running afoul of his boss (also a bud) at the convenience store where he works and hitting the road” (Rolling Stone Country). 

The long-planned release of Billy Ray Cyrus’ new studio album, The SnakeDoctor Circus, is available for pre-order now from BMG. Fans will receive three tracks upon pre-ordering, including “Guns, Gold & Guitars,” “Goddess of Democracy” and “Angel in my Pocket”

CLICK LINKS TO WATCH AND LISTEN: “Guns, Gold & Guitars” and “Goddess of Democracy 

The SnakeDoctor Circus Track Listing:
1. Guns, Gold & Guitars
2. The Reckoning
3. Barely Enough
4. Goddess of Democracy
5. I Think Your Time’s Come
6. The Blood of the Devil
7. Angel in my Pocket
8. Take It Easy Greazy
9. I’ve Been Around

Cyrus recorded The SnakeDoctor Circus in Muscle Shoals, Alabama with some of the most respected musicians, including Rock & Roll Hall of Famer Dewey Lyndon “Spooner” Oldham (piano), Nashville Musician’s Hall of Fame Member Will McFarlane, as well as David Hood (bass guitar), Kelvin Holly (electric/acoustic/bass guitar), Bekka Bramlett (vocals, tambourine), Kimi Samson (violin, viola, piano), Caleb Elliott (cello), Will McFarlane (electric guitar), James LeBlanc (electric guitar), Mike ‘Dillon’ Curington (drums), John Brannen (acoustic guitar, harmonica), Shonna Tucker (bass guitar), Angela Hacker (vocals), Larry Byrom (piano), Mick Utley (piano), Johnny Monteagle (drums, baritone sax, synth) and Jimmy Nutt (acoustic/electric guitars, tambourine, percussion). Nutt, a Grammy®-winning recording engineer, also mixed The SnakeDoctor Circus.

Be sure to follow Cyrus on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. For more information on Billy Ray Cyrus and his upcoming projects, visit

Sharing is caring!

About Boot Kickin' Mayhem

Check Also

Lainey Wilson; Photo Courtesy of Yellowstone/Paramount+

Lainey Wilson Releases New Song “Smell Like Smoke” & Performs The Tune On ‘Yellowstone’

Lainey Wilson had Yellowstone fans roped in for yet another incredible debut last Sunday (Nov …